Acting Like A Kid Again For One Last Time

Less than three weeks from now, I’ll be walking across the stage in Godwin Hall, wearing my purple gown, yellow hood, and blue UPB stole.  Even though I will be starting graduate school in the summer, I feel as though I am in a tug of war.

I cannot wait to begin my life after college, to move to a new city, to find the perfect job, and to make my mark on the world.  But I am dreading my life after college, having to pay my own bills, get my own insurance, and make decisions on my own.  I find myself reminiscing on my childhood and teenage years, and thinking back to all the fun (and dumb) things that I have done these past twenty-two years.

My childhood was spent with people I love, doing things that I loved doing.  I spent countless hours on the playground at school, playing Lava tag and Freeze tag.  After school we would gather at the baseball diamond to play Kickball or Red Rover.  Sleepovers would occur every other weekend, where we would watch scary movies, paint our nails, and eat pizza rolls.  We would make prank-calls, asking if the refrigerator was running.  Come Monday, we all had a sports story to share with the class, whether we scored the game-winning goal or hit our first home run.  Looking back on these memories, I want to go back to those days when I didn’t have to think about the real world that I will be entering soon.

Thankfully, UPB wants me to go back to those days, to be a kid again.  This Thursday, there will be two events that let me act like a kid.  At 9:00, the movie that all children grew up loving will be playing on the Festival Lawn.  Who doesn’t remember watching The Little Rascals and laughing when Alfalfa sang to Darla at the derby race?  At 10:00, the child-like fun continues with Dr. Seuss Late Night Breakfast.  Inflatables, games, music, and free food- sounds like the perfect way to spend a Thursday night.  I’ll be there Thursday night at Festival acting like a kid again- who is going to be with me?

~Kayla Fleming, Film Committee

2 thoughts on “Acting Like A Kid Again For One Last Time

  1. Pingback: Back to the 90′s « hburghotspots

Leave a comment