Get to Know: UPB’s Director of Graphic Design

Director of Graphic Design, Ilana Gazda

As the Graphic Design Director this year, I have learned more than I could have ever imagined about my abilities and myself.  When I initially applied for Exec, Graphic Design Director was not my top choice, nor did I think I was qualified enough to carry out the position however, I ranked it anyway because I had some experience using Photoshop.

When I was offered the position, I was initially shocked and hesitantly said yes, not knowing that it would be the most rewarding and challenging experience of my life. I immediately jumped right into the position, trying to learn all the different facets of the job to prepare myself for the upcoming year. Over the summer, my job kicked into high gear and immediately, my graphic design, communication, and leadership skills began to grow. Being in charge of all of UPB’s graphic advertisements is a huge responsibility. It takes a lot of communication, attention to detail, and constant work to keep track of UPB as a whole in addition to all five committees. While that may sound intimidating, it actually is a lot of fun and very cool knowing that the entire campus is going to see your hard work.

 My favorite part about being in UPB is definitely seeing the impact we make around campus. It makes me feel so awesome when people see our marketing efforts, come to our events, and genuinely enjoy themselves. Seeing other people smile and realizing that you helped make that smile happen is an incredible feeling. As an Exec member, your sense of passion and pride for JMU and the University Program Board grows tremendously.  Gaining experience in multiple areas while having fun proves the adage that if you love what you do you’ll never have to work a day in your life.

My advice to you- don’t sell yourself short! Reach for positions you never thought you could achieve, you never know where you’ll be the best fit!

Leave a Reply

