Get to Know: UPB’s Director of Finance

Director of Finance, Thomas Biestek

Having the opportunity to serve as the University Program Board’s Finance Director this year has been such a great experience. The position has allowed me to grow in both a personal and professional regard. UPB was the first organization on campus that I truly committed to. This organization has helped me expand my network and meet a group of people who I would not have had the chance to meet otherwise. Also, this position has allowed me to grow professionally, in a sense that I was able to find a job while in school that is relevant to the career path I hope to one-day travel down.

A majority of my time was spent in the office editing the budget in attempt to keep up with the constant flow of events. My responsibilities officially included tracking revenues and expenses, accurately maintain the program board’s budget, make necessary changes to it, act as a liaison between other front-end-budget committees on campus, and to oversee the film and center stage chairs. These duties have developed my leadership skills, which will be extremely relevant post graduation.  Here is the breakdown of the 2013 – 2014 budget: Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 2.20.13 PM

Leave a Reply

